Day 4 of Blogmas:Guest post from Melissa McClone

Hello Liars,

Melissa McClone wrote a Guest post for my blog so here it is…

Book Cover.jpg

One of my favorite things to do during December is watch Christmas movies. Eleven months out of the year, I’m just not a big TV watcher. I used to be but something had to go when the writing ramped up. But come December first, and I have my television on so I can watch one movie a night. Sometimes it’s a DVD, but usually I just watch whatever movie happens to be on the Hallmark Channel that night. I’m totally addicted to Hallmark Christmas movies.

Why?

They remind me of the stories I love to read and write.

That same feeling I get when I reach the happily ever after in a sweet romance novel is the same heart-sighing feeling I get when a Hallmark movie ends. It doesn’t matter whether the stories are set in a small town, a big city, or a faraway place. I love watching how the spirit of the season gets tied together with a little romance. Or in some movies, a lot of romance!

If I had to pick my favorite Hallmark movies, it isn’t hard to do. I love The Christmas Card.

The movie came out in 2006 and features a soldier who goes to the small town where a person who sent him a Christmas card when he was on deployment lives. It’s a wonderful set-up, including a cute meet, that gives me the same warm and fuzzies no matter how many times I watch. And given I also own the DVD, I’ve watched it again and again!

If I had to pick a sub-genre of Hallmark Christmas movies, that isn’t hard for me to do, either. The nod would go to royalty-themed ones. This could be because I enjoy reading royalty-themed romance novels or I have a fascination with all things royal or I’m fascinated by the idea of spending Christmas in a beautiful, fairytale-worthy castle. Movies like A Princess for Christmas, A Royal Christmas, and Crown For Christmas push all my buttons.

I can’t even count the number of times I’ve watched A Princess for Christmas which premiered in 2011. It’s become a bit of a joke in my family, but I don’t mind. The prince was played by Sam Heughan, who is now known for his role of Jamie Fraser in Outlander.

When my publisher asked if I wanted to write a royal Christmas story, I jumped at the chance even though it meant back-to-back deadlines and releases. Right away, scenes played in my mind and slowly those showed me the characters and the plot and a way to tie the story into my Ever After series. Soon I had my own Christmas movie playing in my head. One that featured several of my favorite things—a lovely Castle, a handsome prince, a royal dog, and a royal wedding!

The working title of my story originally was A Royal Christmas Wedding, but my publisher asked me for some different title ideas. One of those I sent in was Christmas at the Castle, and that’s what they chose to use.

I only get to see my stories playing in my head, but I know there will be plenty for me to watch each year on the Hallmark Channel! Merry Christmas!

Wasn’t that so nice? Anyway the first five people to leave a comment three friends below get a shout out as my Christmas gift to you

Giveaway:

Melissa is giving away this amazing prize pack (within the US), make sure you enter below!
img_4795

  • $10 Amazon gift card
  • Thirty-One Gifts Zipper Pouch
  • Autographed paperback copy of The Cinderella Princess
  • Footies
  • Christmas at the Castle Bottle top keychain
  • Recipe Card
  • Bookmark
    The link to enter is below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

9 thoughts on “Day 4 of Blogmas:Guest post from Melissa McClone

Leave a Reply

