Author Q&A Series: Emily Ruben

  1. What type of author are? Eg.Indie

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_3ldi2n1815c0c8ocksg4oscc0_640I’m an Indie author, signed to the independent publishing house Inkitt.

 

  1. What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading (and finishing) a Wattpad book called Blind Attraction.

 

  1. What was your last read was it good or bad?

My last read was Handcuffs, kisses and awkward situations by Olivia Harvard and I absolutely loved it, I read it in a about three days. I recommend it to any teen looking for a nice, funny and lovely story.

 

  1. How do you think your book will solve certain social issue?

I think that maybe it can show that things aren’t set in stone. You can turn things around and change if you realize the person you were/are isn’t the person you want to be (and you don’t have to get in a coma and wake up with no memory to realize that).

I really hope it can be taken as an anti-bullying message, and it also contains messages like “no means no” that I think are important for everyone (girls and boys) to know.

 

  1. What is the message in your book?

The message… What a hard question! I guess the message is that you can always change to be the person you want to be proud of. Lacey had to get in a coma and forget two years of her life to realize that she hated the person she had become but of course it doesn’t have to come to this extent. If you don’t like something about your life, or someone, change it.

 

  1. How did you get the idea to write I Was A Bitch?

I don’t know, the idea just came to me once as I was riding the bus for the title and the synopsis but the plot twists got invented along the way as I wrote chapter after chapter. I didn’t have a lot planned and just winged it every time I opened the Word document and started typing.

 

  1. How long did it take for you to write this book?

If I remember correctly, I think it took me about six months.

 

  1. Why did you decide to be an author?

In my opinion, you don’t decide to be an author. You just like to write so you decide to. Simple as that. I loved to write and always have ever since I could hold a pen so I wrote story after story and eventually, some turned into completed books and one had the luck to win a contest on Inkitt and made me an actual published author.

 

  1. What inspired your book cover?

The two guys in the sunglasses reflection are supposed to represent the confliction between Finn and Derek in the book. Lacey wakes up to realize Derek is her boyfriend but there is also this hot guy named Finn who claims to love her and it doesn’t take long before she develops feelings for him instead of her boyfriend.

 

  1. Who would read your book if it was an audiobook?

I think it would appeal more to teenagers between the ages of 15 to 25. But anyone could read it really, it depends on what you like to read. If a romance mixed with mystery is your thing then you might like my book!

 

  1. What tips do you have for young writers like me?

I would say write because you love it and write whenever you feel like it. Don’t write only in the purpose of getting published, do it for fun and get inspired by author authors, TV shows, movies, music… Everything surrounding you is potentially a source of inspiration.

 

  1. What is your favourite genre to write and why?

My favorite genre to write is Young Adult/romance because it is the genre I prefer to read so it’s for it that I get the most inspiration.

 

  1. What is your favourite genre to read and why?

Young Adult/romance, and I also love a book with a hint of mystery (like Pretty Little Liars, The Lying Game…). It makes it more interesting than a simple romance in my opinion.

 

  1. What inspired you to write you book I Was A Bitch?

I honestly have no idea how the inspiration came to me, I wish I knew!

 

  1. What authors inspire you today?

A lot of authors inspire me! I absolutely love John Green’s writing, Sara Shepard, Gayle Forman, Meg Cabot, Anna Todd for the success she managed to have off of Wattpad, Gillian Flynn, Veronica Roth, James Dashner, J.K Rowling of course… I could name a hundred.

 

  1. What is your favourite book and why?

I have so many favorite books… The one I read the most would have to be The Fault In Our Stars though, but I also read one particular Wattpad book over four times called I sold myself to the devil for vinyls… pitiful I know and I absolutely love it and wish I could own the hardcopy of it.

 

  1. What character out of your book I Was A Bitch do you relate to?

Oddly enough, I relate to Lacey the most (the new her, not the bitchy her). I gave her some of my personal awkwardness and she has the same love of ice cream, Youtube and reading that I have. I don’t space out as much as she does though and she has way more balls than I do (see chapter 45) but she also resembles me in some ways.

 

  1. If your book was a movie who would act in it and why?

That is the hardest question ever. I tried finding a cast for my characters when I published the book on Wattpad but couldn’t manage to do it for Lacey.

I would love either Gregg Sulkin of Francisco Lachowski as Finn. I have no idea who could play Derek but someone suggested Brant Daugherty. I think Dylan O’Brien could be a good James, Bianca A. Santos could be Melissa and Hayden Panettiere would be Claire (Mia Hays could be Zoey). The only one I can’t cast at all is Lacey so if you have suggestions on who you see playing her, I’m open to them!

 

  1. What is your favourite book to movie adaptations and why?

It would probably be the Hunger Games because I think the adaptation was faithful to the book enough and seeing the arena come to life in the movie was amazing. Jennifer Lawrence played an amazing Katniss and not much was left from the book so overall I was very satisfied with the adaptation.

 

  1. Who would be in your bookish family?

I would want Lexi’s dad as my own (from I sold myself to the devil for vinyls…pitiful I know), Emmett from My Brother’s Best Friend as my brother and Hazel Grace’s mom from The Fault In Our Stars.

 

  1. How did you come across my blog?

Thanks to you, you sent me a message inviting me to do a guest post, and I accepted.

 

  1. How would you improve my blog?

I don’t have any suggestions at the moment, I think your blog is awesome as is so keep up the good work!

If you would like to see more of Emily click the pictures below

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_3ldi2n1815c0c8ocksg4oscc0_640    high-school-guide-bullies-26

 

 

Leave a Reply

