Author Interview with Jenifer Ruff


What type of author are?

Indie
2. What are you currently reading?

The Dry by Jane Harper. Excellent intriguing writing!
3. What was your last read was it good or bad?

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman– I love thrillers that take place in blizzards. Something exciting and frightening about all that snow coming down! One of my books, Everett, takes place in a blizzard.

4. How do you think your book will solve certain social issue?

It might give young teens a new perspective on dealing with meanness and jealousy. People can change and sometimes there is an explanation. My book is about a high school freshman, but I wrote it for middle school students to have a glimpse of what is coming.
5. What is the message in your book?

Kindness and being a good friend are more important than being the best at something and when your plans change, try to appreciate the new journey.
6. How did you get the idea to write Full-Out?

I’ve always been fascinated with elite gymnasts for their discipline and mental and physical fortitude. The way they have to train is mind-blowing.
7. How long did it take for you to write this book?

I wrote it in a few months but then returned to it many times over the next few years to edit and rewrite.
8. Why did you decide to be an author?

I had to write a thesis when I was in graduate school. “Had to” being the key words, but I ended up really enjoying the writing process. After that, I knew I would enjoy writing a book, but didn’t start one until years later.
9. What inspired your book cover?

I wanted to capture the gymnastics and cheerleading aspects of the book, while making it clear that there was an element of mystery and darkness.
10. Who would read your book if it was an audiobook?

A young person with a serious voice, because it’s meant to be humorous but not necessarily light.
11. What tips do you have wrong writers like me?

If writing is important to you, than MAKE the time to write, maybe not every day, but as many days as you can. Stick with it and don’t give up. There will be much to learn but it comes gradually and naturally as you keep writing and reading other’s books. Don’t compare yourself to any other writers, but learn all you can from them. A terrible first draft or first chapter is still a way better place to start off with than nothing at all.
12. What is your favourite genre to write and why?

YA. Young adults are often the most hopeful, ambitious, interesting, dramatic, idealistic and energetic population, so it’s fun to write about them.
13. What is your favourite genre to read and why?

Mysteries and thrillers. I love to figure things out and be scared along the way.
14. What inspired you to write you book Full-Out?

I had just written two very dark books so I wanted to write one with a positive message so people wouldn’t think I was crazy.
15. What authors inspire you today?

All of them. Andrew Smith, who wrote Winger, inspired me to write a novel about a teen boy (not published yet) and I had the most fun with it.
16. What is your favourite book and why?

Again, so many. But I would have to say that Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese is one book that I never wanted to end.
17. What character out of your book Full-Out do you relate to?

The main character, Ryan, because I know what it’s like to have to give up something you’ve worked years to earn.
18. If your book was a movie who would act in it and why?

Hopefully some real gymnasts/competitive cheerleaders with the talent and strength to do the tumbling in the book.
19. What is your favourite book to movie adaptations and why?

Hunger Games was a great book and the movie didn’t disappoint.
20. Who would be in your bookish family?

Ryan, because she’s intense. And Tate. I love her kindness and maturity.
21. How did you come across my blog?

I found it listed on the Book Bloggers List and was pleased to discover that you are a young adult blogging for other young people.
22. How would you improve my blog?

This was the only hard question because I think your blog is very well done. I want to leave you with something constructive because everyone loves constructive feedback, but I’m not coming up with anything. I’ll let you know if I think of something.

Leave a Reply

