Author Interview with Karissa Laurel

 

1. What type of author are?

I am a small press author, meaning that my books were submitted and accepted by publishers who release a limited number of books per year. Heir of Thunder was published by Evolved Publishing.
2. What are you currently reading?

I am reading Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho. It’s about a world that had magic, but is losing it. The main character must figure out why magic is disappearing and how to get it back.
3. What was your last read was it good or bad?

I just finished Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson. It’s the second in her Gold Seer Trilogy. I liked the first book a lot. I liked the second one less. Carson resolved a lot of the major conflicts in book 2 and it’s hard to imagine there will be much left for book 3, but I’m sure I’ll read the third book at some point.
4. How do you think your book will solve certain social issue?

I don’t think it will solve any social issues. The main character is a young woman who has to grow up fast and learn how to be a strong leader. I think that’s a good message for girls, but ultimately this book’s purpose it to entertain and give readers a place to retreat when they need a break from the real world.
5. What is the message in your book?

I wouldn’t say it had a “message”. But I hope the main character, Evie, would be a good role model for girls. She shows bravery, leadership, problem solving skills, and deep loyalty and love for her friends and family.
6. How did you get the idea to write Heir of Thunder?

The song, “Viva La Vida” by Cold Play inspired this book. The first lines of the song say: I used to rule the world, seas would rise when I gave the word. Now in the morning I sleep alone, sweep the streets I used to own. That gave me the idea to write a story about someone who had a kingdom but lost it. I wanted to explore what that person would do and how they might go about reclaiming their throne.
7. How long did it take for you to write this book?

I wrote it so long ago, it’s hard to remember, exactly. I’m sure it took several months.
8. Why did you decide to be an author?

I have always enjoyed writing. I decided to start writing books because I spent a lot of time thinking about characters, situations, and scenarios and I wanted to see them developed into complete stories. I started out writing for myself, but it’s fun to share stories with others, too, because it somehow makes these characters and their worlds more real.
9. What inspired your book cover?

My cover was designed by a very talented artist named Richard Tran. He used a scene from the book where Evie is exercising her powers over lighting while she’s on board an airship.
10. Who would read your book if it was an audiobook?

I haven’t thought about that before, but maybe someone like Emma Stone because I really love her voice.
11. What tips do you have wrong writers like me?

The most important thing a new writer can do is read a lot and write a lot. Seek out people who can mentor you and give you feedback. Share your work as much as possible and ask for feedback. Be willing to take criticism and always strive to do better. Never give up.
12. What is your favourite genre to write and why?

I like fantasy, both urban fantasy (set in the real world) and epic fantasy (set in make believe worlds) because I love to imagine impossible things and I love the idea that magic could really exist and influence people and the world they live in

.
13. What is your favourite genre to read and why?

I like anything with a bit of make-believe in it. I’ll read fantasy, science fiction, magical realism, etc. But I’m open to reading almost anything.
14. What inspired you to write you book Heir of Thunder?

See my answer to number 6 above. When I heard “Viva La Vida” I just felt like there was a story there that I really wanted to write.
15. What authors inspire you today?

I’m inspired by very successful authors such as Stephen King, Neil Gaimon, and Margaret Atwood, but I’m even more inspired by many of my friends who are authors, but who aren’t necessarily famous.
16. What is your favourite book and why?

I have so many favorites, but the last one I read that really moved me was a Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin. I thought it was so beautifully written and it’s themes were so ambitious and clever. The book had a lot of magic in it, but it was subtle. It’s hard to explain exactly why I loved it, but after I read it, I felt I had learned something new about the world and that I had been allowed to look through a secret portal.
17. What character out of your book Heir of Thunder do you relate to?

I guess I’d have to say I relate most to Evie, the main character. I relate to how much she loves and cares for her family, especially. I hope I would be as brave and daring as she is, but I’ve never had to face the situations she faces.
18. If your book was a movie who would act in it and why?

I do not know.
19. What is your favourite book to movie adaptations and why?

I’m always excited by movie adaptations and then almost always wind up being disappointed. However, I thought the Harry Potter movies, and especially the latter ones were great. The casting was excellent.
20. Who would be in your bookish family?

If I had to choose people from books to have in my family, I think if I could just join the Weasley family in the Harry Potter world, I’d be perfectly happy.

21. How did you come across my blog?

I found it on the Book Blogger List.
22. How would you improve my blog?

Blogs are the brain children of their makers. I wouldn’t feel comfortable telling a mother how to raise her child and I wouldn’t be comfortable telling a blogger how to do her blog.

 

 

Leave a Reply

